fbpx
Vegan Liftz is a community-supported website. We may earn a small commission on purchases made through our links. Learn more.

How to Order Vegan At Starbucks

Jason Hughes
Published by Jason Hughes
Fact checked by Markus Oliver, BHSc FACT CHECKED
Last updated: May 26, 2022

Even if you follow a clean eating, plant-based diet, there's a good chance you still like to indulge in the occasional Starbucks drinks or treats. If this is you, don't feel guilty. Starbucks is nearly irresistible and the good news is that you can absolutely enjoy most of your favorite Starbucks treats with careful ordering.

How to Order Vegan at Starbucks: The Best Vegan Starbucks Drinks

You can customize nearly any order at Starbucks, but is Starbucks vegan technically? If so, what can vegans order at Starbucks? Below is a list of items on the Starbucks menu that are vegan or can easily be turned into a vegan beverage with just a few tweaks.

All plain-brewed coffees and espressos at Starbucks are vegan as long as you ask your barista to make them with almond milk, soy milk, or coconut milk.

Plain-brewed coffees

All plain-brewed coffees and espressos at Starbucks are vegan as long as you ask your barista to make them with almond milk, soy milk, or coconut milk. Vegan hot coffees that are vegan at Starbucks include all of these:

  • Caffe Mocha
  • Caffé Americano (essentially espresso and water)
  • Flat White (If you order the Honey Almond Milk Flat White, be sure to order it without honey because honey is not vegan.)

Plain-brewed hot teas

These are the Starbucks teas that are vegan.

  • Regular Chai (non-Teavana chai is not vegan)
  • Iced black tea
  • Chamomile tea
  • Emperor's Clouds and Mise
  • Youthberry
  • Earl Grey
  • Iced or hot green tea
  • Full leaf tea
  • Iced hibiscus
  • Mint blend
  • Mint citrus
  • Peach Tranquility Tea
  • Mint Majesty Tea

Cappuccino

As long as you use a milk substitute, you can enjoy a cappuccino.

Nitro Cold Brew

Nitro Cold Brew is made creamier and sweeter because it's infused with nitrogen, so it doesn't need sugar or milk.

Frappuccinos

Are all of the Starbucks Frappuccinos vegan? Most of them can be as long as you order them carefully.

To make your favorite Frappuccino vegan, be sure to order yours with either almond milk, soy milk, or coconut milk. Also, you need to skip the whipped cream because Starbucks whipped cream is not vegan. Keep in mind that chocolate curls and Frappuccino Chips are also not vegan.

Here are the Frappuccinos you can make vegan with the modifications listed above.

  • Mocha Frappuccino Blended Beverage
  • Caramel Frappuccino
  • Espresso Frappuccino
  • Caffé Vanilla Frappuccino
  • Green Tea Creme Frappuccino
  • Cinnamon Dolce Frappuccino
  • Salted Caramel Mocha Frappuccino (ask them to use caramel syrup instead of caramel sauce)
  • Salted Caramel Mocha Creme Frappuccino (ask them to use caramel syrup instead of caramel sauce)
  • Midnight Mint Mocha Frappuccino
  • Strawberries and Creme Frappuccino
  • Java Chip Frappuccino
  • Vegan Nutella Frappuccino
  • Samoa Cookie Frappuccino

Lattes

These latte drinks are vegan if ordered with a milk substitute.

  • Cinnamon Dolce Latte
  • Starbucks Blonde Vanilla Latte
  • Peppermint Mocha Latte
  • Starbucks Reserve Latte
  • Matcha Green Tea Latte
  • Iced London Fog Tea Latte
  • Café Latte
  • Iced Sugar Cookie Almond Milk Latte

Strawberry Smoothie

Ask the barista to make your smoothie without protein powder.

Macchiatos

Starbucks Macchiatos are vegan if you order them with a milk substitute.

  • Hazelnut Mocha Macchiato
  • Caramel Macchiato

Pink Drink

The much-loved Pink Drink is made with an acai base, coconut milk, and strawberries, so it's vegan as-is.

Fruity drinks and Starbucks Refreshers

In addition to the beloved Pink Drink, the vegan fruity drinks at Starbucks include all of these:

  • Violet Drink
  • Dragon Drink
  • Guava Passion Fruit Drink
  • Star Drink
  • Steamed Apple Juice
  • Very Berry Hibiscus
  • Golden Ginger

Also, Starbucks Refreshers are typically vegan as they are, but be sure to ask questions if you have any doubt.

Lemonades

Starbucks has several vegan lemonades.

  • Iced Shaken Green Tea Lemonade
  • Iced Shaken Black Tea Lemonade
  • Iced Shaken Peach Green Tea Lemonade
  • Iced Shaken Hibiscus Lemonade

Starbucks Vegan Syrups

At Starbucks, all of the clear syrups are vegan. Also, it's not clear, but the mocha syrup is vegan as well. This is a list of all of the syrups at Starbucks that are vegan.

  • Caramel
  • Almond
  • Hazelnut
  • Gingerbread
  • Mocha
  • Macadamia
  • Simple syrup
  • Toffee-nut
  • Peach

Starbucks Vegan Menu Items: Food and Snacks

Are you hungry? These Starbucks food menu items are vegan.

All the Starbucks bagels are certified vegan foods by the American Vegetarian Association. This includes these bagels:

  • Cinnamon Raisin Bagel
  • Sprouted Grain Bagel
  • Plain Bagel
  • Everything Bagel

For a delicious and nutritious topping, try the Avocado Spread, which is also vegan.

In addition to the bagels, these menu items are also vegan.

  • Chickpea Bites and Avocado Protein Box
  • Strawberry Overnight Grains
  • Hearty Blueberry Oatmeal
  • Classic Oatmeal

Starbucks Vegan Snacks

In addition to the meals available at Starbucks, the coffeehouse also offers lots of delicious vegan snacks.

  • Organic Avocado Spread
  • Fruit
  • Dried fruit
  • Fruit bars
  • Mixed nuts
  • Hippeas Organic Chickpea Puffs
  • Pop! Sunflower Oil and Sea Salt Popcorn
  • Kettle Chips
  • Rhythm Super Foods Kale Chips
  • Justin's Classic Almond Butter or Hazelnut Butter
  • Kettle Corn

Vegetarian Starbucks Food Menu Items

In addition to its vegan offerings, Starbucks also has a comprehensive list of foods that are vegetarian.

  • Spinach, Feta & Egg White Wrap
  • Impossible Breakfast Sandwich
  • Sous Vide Egg Bites: Kale & Portabella Mushroom
  • Sous Vide Egg Bites: Egg White & Roasted Red Pepper
  • Cheese & Fruit Protein Box
  • PB&J Protein Box
  • Eggs & Cheddar Protein Box
  • Tomato and Mozzarella Sandwich

How to Make Most Starbucks Menu Items Vegan

Did you know that you can make nearly any Starbucks drink vegan with some easy adjustments? In fact, there are three ingredients that are already vegan when ordered with shaken espresso.

  • Chocolate almond milk
  • Brown sugar oat milk
  • Toasted vanilla oat milk

You can also order soy milk, coconut milk, oat milk, or almond milk for any beverage that is made with regular milk.

Things to Avoid at Starbucks if You're Vegan

If you're vegan, there are some things at Starbucks that you should completely avoid.

  • Caramel Drizzle
  • Frappuccino Chips
  • Pistachio Sauce
  • Dark Caramel Sauce
  • Dark Chocolate Curls
  • Whipped cream
  • Cinnamon Dolce
  • Java chips
  • All White Mocha drinks
  • Salted Caramel Cream
  • Vanilla Sweet Cream
  • Protein powder (found in the smoothies)
  • All Caramel Brûlée drinks
  • Non-Teavana chai
  • All Pumpkin Spice drinks and Pumpkin Spice sauce
  • Chai Tea Concentrate (the Chai Tea Latte contains honey)
  • Irish Cream Cold Foam

The drinks listed here come from the factory with cow's milk or honey already added, so you can't order these items without them.

FAQs

Below are some of the most frequently asked questions about vegan products at Starbucks.

Is Starbucks caramel syrup vegan?

The Starbucks Caramel Syrup is vegan. However, the Caramel Drizzle is not vegan.

Is Starbucks mocha sauce vegan?

Yes, the Mocha Sauce at Starbucks is vegan. However, the White Chocolate Mocha Sauce is not vegan.

Is the Starbucks Chai vegan?

Regular chai can be vegan if you order it with one of the milk alternatives. However, the non-Teavana chai is not vegan.

Is the Starbucks Impossible Breakfast Sandwich vegan?

No, the Starbucks Impossible Breakfast Sandwich is vegetarian, but it is not vegan because it contains cheddar cheese and an egg. If you order this sandwich without the egg and cheese, it is vegan.

What drizzle at Starbucks is vegan?

The only vegan sauce at Starbucks is the Mocha Sauce.

Is Sugar in the Raw vegan?

Yes, the branded Sugar in the Raw product is vegan because it contains no animal by-products. Moreover, Sugar in the Raw doesn't come into contact with animal by-products or bone char during the manufacturing process.

Is raw sugar vegan?

Raw sugar is only vegan if no bone char is involved in the manufacturing process. Be sure to read labels carefully or buy a certified vegan brand.

Is Starbucks hot chocolate vegan?

As it is made without modification, Starbucks hot chocolate is not vegan. However, you can order your hot chocolate with coconut milk, almond milk, or soy milk.

 

 


About the author