fbpx
Vegan Liftz is a community-supported website. We may earn a small commission on purchases made through our links. Learn more.

Is Soda Vegan?

Jason Hughes
Published by Jason Hughes
Fact checked by Markus Oliver, BHSc FACT CHECKED
Last updated: May 26, 2022

Whether you’re new to veganism or you’ve been eating plant-based for years, plenty of vegans ask “is soda vegan?”

Most brands of soda and soft drinks are vegan. Vegan soda brands include Coca-Cola, 7UP, Dr. Pepper, and most types of Pepsi. Non-vegan sodas can contain sugar processed with animal bones, dyes made from crushed insects, and ingredients derived from lamb wool.

Is Soda Vegan?

The majority of soda brands are vegan. This includes products from Coca-Cola, Pepsi, and even Red Bull energy drinks. Even though these products are vegan, they still contain artificial ingredients, dyes, and more sugar than is healthy for most diets.

Is Coke Vegan?

All Coca-cola brand products are vegan. Unless a product explicitly states that it has milk or other animal ingredients, Coca-Cola creates vegan sodas that can be enjoyed with this lifestyle. This is in contrast to Brands like Pepsi that have some vegan sodas and some that are not.

The Soda Ingredients That Aren’t Vegan

Answering “is soda vegan” gets a little complicated when we take a closer look at soda ingredients. There are some common ingredients found in sodas that are definitely not vegan. Here are a few common culprits for non-vegan ingredients that might sneak under the radar.

  • Refined Sugar
  • Cochineal
  • Ester gum
  • Honey
  • Artificial or Natural flavors—these could be vegan or non-vegan depending on how they are made
  • Yellow 5 and other dyes are technically vegan, but often tested on animals

Is Sugar Vegan?

Is sugar vegan Is a big question when you start talking about vegan soda brands. Some types of refined sugar are not vegan because they use animal ingredients in their processing. We're going to take a closer look at this question so that you can understand which sodas are vegan.

What Makes Sugar Not Vegan?

Refined sugar might not be vegan because it uses a filter made of charred animal bones in the refining process. This isn't always the case for refined sugar, but it is a very common way to complete the refining process. Care should be taken when you see refined sugar on a label to make sure that your soda is a vegan.

Vegan Types of Sugar and Sweeteners

Most types of sugars and sweeteners are vegan including:

  • Vegan refined sugar
  • Raw sugar
  • Maple sugar
  • Beat sugar
  • Agave
  • Artificial sweeteners

Sugar That Isn’t Vegan

There are two big types of sweeteners that are not vegan. These are honey and refined sugars that use charred animal bone as a filter.

How to Know if Soda Uses Vegan Sweeteners?

There are a few ways that you can tell if a soda brand is using vegan sweeteners. Corn syrup is almost always vegan and, though it might not be good for your health, it's perfectly safe for a vegan diet.

You should look out for sodas that use refined sugar. The refining process can use charred animal bones as a filter which is definitely not vegan. You can look for a certified vegan logo on the soda or check the company's website to see if they can confirm whether they're sugar is vegan.

Are There Health Benefits of Vegan Sodas and Drinks?

We often think of sodas and soft drinks as being very unhealthy, but are there health benefits of vegan sodas?

There are some healthy vegan soda and soft drink alternatives out there. One big thing to keep in mind is that even a vegan soda that has tons of sugar is going to be no good for your health. All the sugar that's in soda can negatively offset even the best health benefits.

Health Benefits Of Ginger Ale Soda

The health benefits of ginger ale soda are well documented. These are associated with the positive impact of ginger on our health. Ginger can help with nausea, reduce inflammation, and improve our health with antioxidants.

The health benefits of ginger beer are very similar, but caution should be taken with sodas that contain lots of sugar.

Vegan Health Benefits Of Mineral Water

Mineral water can have some surprising health benefits for vegans. The health benefits of mineral water include getting minerals and nutrients that are naturally found in these drinks and even relieving constipation.

Health Benefits Of Iced Tea

You can enjoy the health benefits of iced tea as long as it doesn’t have too much refined sugar. Tea has been shown to offer health benefits including antioxidants and has been linked to everything from lowered risks for heart disease and improved overall health. Iced tea is often made with sweeteners that can lower its health benefit.

What Are The Health Benefits Of Drinking Cranberry Juice

There are plenty of health benefits of drinking cranberry juice! Cranberry juice is associated with lower inflammation and improved digestive health. Recent research also suggests that cranberries can reduce your risk of cavities.

Are There Health Benefits Of Coca Cola?

There are not that many health benefits of coke. In fact, Coke brand products can cause serious health problems and make it harder to have a healthy lifestyle. The health benefits of coca cola are often attributed to the cola nut which does have potential health benefits.

Is Soda Pop Vegan FAQs

Which sodas are not vegan?

There are a few sodas and soft drinks that are not vegan. Sunkist Orange, Monster Coffee, and Diet Pepsi are not vegan. Sodas that contain orange dye or refined sugars also might not be vegan depending on the sources of those ingredients.

Why is soda not vegan?

Sodas are often made using ingredients derived from animal sources. These include refined sugars which can be made using charred bone as a filter, dyes derived from crushed insects, and other ingredients like milk or cream. You should check with your particular soft drink’s manufacturer to see if their ingredients are vegan.

What sodas are vegan?

There are a few common soda brands that make vegan products. All Coca Cola brand sodas are vegan as are 7-Up, Mountain Dew, and Pepsi sodas. Most sodas are vegan, but they can contain ingredients that are nevertheless bad for your health.


About the author