fbpx
Vegan Liftz is a community-supported website. We may earn a small commission on purchases made through our links. Learn more.

Five Guys Vegan Options

Jason Hughes
Published by Jason Hughes
Fact checked by Markus Oliver, BHSc FACT CHECKED
Last updated: April 26, 2022

Five Guys' Vegan Options

Five Guys specializes in back-to-basics fast food with a cutesy old-school aesthetic and feel.

But what are the vegan options at Five Guys? Do they even have any?

Read on to find out.

1. Vegan Sandwich

Vegan Sandwich question mark

No, Five Guys does not have a vegan sandwich. What they do have, the “veggie sandwich,” is less than ideal. Five Guys is, first and foremost, a burger and hot dog joint. So ideally, you would expect to find a vegan sandwich option. Unfortunately, there is none.

The veggie sandwich (literally their standard burger with the meat ripped out and charged at basically the same price) comes in a non-vegan bun.

You can get a lettuce wrap instead, but that equates to ordering lettuce, tomatoes, and grilled onions smushed together in a ball.

[thrive_leads id='11437']

2. French Fries

Fries Collage

While their sandwich and burger options may be disappointing, the opposite is true for their french fries.

I wouldn't be so angry about their lackluster vegan options if I weren't so hopelessly addicted to the Five Guys french fries. Cooked in peanut oil with no cross-contamination risk as they are the only fried item on the menu, these things are genuinely magnificent.

They have the perfect amount of crunch to a chewy soft center. Also, the peanut oil is free of cholesterol, so there are no healthier style fries than the Five Guys fries.

3. Cajun Style Fries

Cajun Style Fries Closeup

If you thought the original Five Guys fries were the best you could get, be prepared to have your tiny taste buds blown into outer space. The Cajun-style fries take it to the next level, packing a seriously spiced-up punch with every crunch.

I apologize if I sound like an infomercial, but I cannot truly convey how great these Five Guys Cajun fries are without a little over-the-top adoration. The Cajun fries are vegan, and they're less processed. They're healthier and better tasting than all other fries—in my honest opinion.

4. Vegan Sauces

set of several different sauces in ceramic saucers. Mushroom, Adjika, cheese, garlic, barbecue

If you're the kind of person who has to dip that chip, then Five Guys has some sauces on hand, and a fair few of them are vegan.

Ditch the mayo and order any of the vegan options listed below:

  • A1 Original Steak Sauce
  • BBQ Sauce
  • Hot Sauce
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard
  • Relish

5. Peanuts

Peanuts Closeup

I love that Five Guys adds to their old-timey chic appeal by offering free peanuts.

You can scoop up as many as you want to snack on while you wait for your order or while you chat with your friends after your meal.

Peanuts are vegan, and you can eat as many as you like for free, which is excellent because they don't have a vegan sandwich to fill you up. It also serves to remind you of those delicious fries fried in peanut oil; maybe we should order more fries?

6. Toppings

fresh vegetables frame on white background

When looking for vegan options at Five Guys, we also need to take a closer look at their toppings. It is important to keep in mind that any toppings you choose (like grilled onion and grilled mushroom) that are grilled on the same grill as the hamburgers will be cross-contaminated.

Here are some vegan topping options to consider:

  • Green peppers
  • Pickles
  • Tomatoes
  • Lettuce
  • Raw onions
  • Jalapeno peppers
  • Pickles

*Again, if you want grilled mushrooms and grilled onions, see if they are grilled separately and on a different grill than their burgers.

Five Guys Drinks

Five Guys serves milkshakes, soft drinks, and juices but has not announced any vegan milkshake drink options. So, when looking for vegan drink options at Five Guys, stick to the soft drink and juices they offer, which are primarily Coca-Cola products.

Does Five Guys Have an Impossible Burger?

No. Currently, Five Guys does not have an Impossible Burger. They also do not have a Beyond Burger and do not offer any vegan burger options at all on their menu. The veggie burger they offer may be suitable if you are looking for a vegetarian option.

Is the Bread at Five Guys Vegan?

No. The hamburger buns at Five Guys are not vegan because they contain egg ingredients and other dairy products. However, you can ask for a lettuce wrap or a bowl as a vegan alternative to the hamburger bun.

Does Five Guys Have a Secret Menu?

Most fast food restaurants have a secret menu. These are food items they serve but aren't advertised or listed on their menu. When it comes to Five Guys, they do have a secret menu, but it offers no options for people on a vegan diet.

Is Five Guys Vegan-Friendly?

No, in my opinion, Five Guys is not vegan-friendly at all.

The menu lacks veggie or vegan options and what they do have (just the fries) is accidentally vegan at best. Five Guys Burgers and Fries are just Five Fries if you’re vegan.

I love the Five Guys-style fries, but they should be offering a decent veggie sandwich.

Until they offer a genuine plant-based option, I would personally prefer to go elsewhere. In this day and age, it's insulting not to have a plant-based alternative, and I vote with my wallet.

That said, each to their own, and if you can’t get enough of that Five Guys style and fries are all you’re after, they’re seriously good fries, I don’t blame you.

You can also try the “veggie sandwich” with no bun, no cheese, and no sauce… yum.

[thrive_leads id='11437']



About the author