fbpx
Vegan Liftz is a community-supported website. We may earn a small commission on purchases made through our links. Learn more.

Is Juul Vaping Vegan?

Last updated: June 30, 2022

If you're a vegan, you may be wondering is juuling bad for you as a vegan. Let's take a look at what ingredients are in Juul vapes and whether or not they are vegan. We'll also explore some other vegan alternatives for vaping and consider the implications of vaping for vegans.

What Ingredients Are In Juul E-Liquid?

Juul pods are primarily made of four ingredients.

The first two are the most important and they are propylene glycol and glycerol. These two ingredients are pharmaceutical grade and made up the majority of what is inside the Juul pod.

The reason these ingredients are in Juul e-liquid is that they act as an aerosol for the other ingredients. When heated together they help to deliver the nicotine, benzoic acid, and flavors.

Nicotine is well studied and relatively safe compared to other drugs, however, it is addictive. It is the reason most people can't stop smoking cigarettes and although it is vegan it will cause people to become addicted to Juul pods.

Benzoic acid is used as a preservative in many food items and has been deemed safe for human consumption by the FDA. The compound binds with the nicotine and makes a nicotine salt that helps people get the satisfaction of a cigarette in a vape device.

Neither the propylene glycol, glycerol, nicotine, nor benzoic acid contains any animal products and are safe to consume for vegans.

The last ingredient in Juul e-liquid is flavorings. The flavorings are what give each Juul pod its unique taste.

Are the Flavors In E-Liquid Vegan?

The flavors that are used in Juul vape pods are going to be a combination of both natural and artificial ingredients.

They help to give Juul the unique taste that has many using the product over other vape options.

Even though the flavors might claim to be natural it doesn't mean that they are using the source ingredient. For example, if you see a strawberry flavor that doesn't mean that Juul is using fresh strawberries in order to flavor their pods.

Artificial flavors are those that are synthetically made in a laboratory. The real concern for both artificial and natural flavors is the use of castoreum which is derived from animals.

The good news is that castoreum is very expensive and is preferred in perfumes but is not used regularly in e-liquid vape pods.

So you can rest easy if you were wondering is a Juul bad for you as a vegan.

Even if you see flavors that have dairy connotations like ice cream or milk and cream, these flavors are almost never derived from animal products and are usually vegan.

Juul doesn't use any animal products in their flavorings so they are completely vegan.

Does E-Liquid Coloring Contain Animal Products?

The concern with the coloring being added to vape pods is that they can contain an extract called carmine red. It can also be called E120, crimson lake, or cochineal extract.

This is an animal-based extract that is derived from insects. While it isn't used in Juul pods, some other companies do use it.

The use of carmine red has decreased over the years because it is a potential allergen and it also has implications of animal cruelty which most companies are hesitant to adopt.

There will be a slight color variation between pods but that is almost never a result of added coloring to the juice.

Coloring has no real use in vape pods besides making them more appealing to the eye and Juul does not use them so you can feel safe as a vegan vaping with them.

Do Vape Covers Contain Animal Products?

Because of the popularity of vape devices, there are many companies that produce covers for them.

The covers can be made from a variety of materials but the most popular is silicone.

Silicone is a synthetic rubber that is made from silicon, oxygen, and other elements. It's flexible, durable, and heat-resistant which makes it perfect for holding a vape device.

You'll find that most covers are made from silicone and are therefore vegan.

The only time you'll find an animal product in a vape cover is if it's made from leather or an abalone shell.

You can usually tell if a cover is made from leather by the stitching that is used to hold it together.

If you're concerned about using a leather vape cover, there are many companies that sell vegan leather covers.

These are made from a variety of synthetic materials that have the same look and feel as genuine leather without animal products.

What Other Vegan Vape Alternatives Are There?

Juul is just one company that offers completely vegan vape pods.

There are other companies that also don't use any animal products in their devices or e-liquids.

If you're looking for a vegan alternative to Juul, here are a few companies that you can try.

Vape Green - Vape green is looking to target consumers who want better business practices in the vaping industry. They have a line of VG organic e-liquids made with natural extracts and flavors.

Velvet Cloud - All of Velvet Clouds' e-liquids are made with vegan-friendly, GMO-free, gluten-free, preservative-free, sweetener-free, and color-free ingredients.

FAQ

Is Juul bad for you?

No, Juul does not contain any of the carcinogenic ingredients that are in cigarettes but it does contain nicotine which is addictive.

Is Juul tested on animals?

No, Juul is not tested on animals and is only made for human consumption.


About the author