Going vegan has been known to help with weight loss, reduce your risk of heart disease, and decrease your chances of certain cancers. Plus, you help protect the animals and the environment. However, if you're going vegan, you may have a few questions about what you can eat. Since some candies consist of animals, one question may be, "Can You Still Eat Your Favorite Candy?"
We will discuss the following:
Are Sour Skittles Vegan?
At one point, Sour Skittles and Skittles in general used carmine and gelatin. The gelatin gave the candy its texture, while the carmine gave certain Skittles their color. Gelatin consists of animal collagen, and carmine is crushed insects.
Sour Skittles no longer use these ingredients. And to answer, "Are Skittles vegan in general," yes they are. Instead of animal products for color, Skittles contain artificial colors. Rather than gelatin, Skittles use corn syrup to get their chewy consistency.
Skittles have carnauba wax. Let's take a minute to talk about "Is carnauba wax vegan?" This ingredient helps give Skittles their shine and prevents them from melting. Fortunately, it's vegan because it comes from the carnauba palm.
Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan?
Despite their chewiness, Sour Patch Kids have neither gelatin nor eggs in them.
However, you may want to steer away from them if you have strict vegan convictions. The processing of the sugar in Sour Patch Kids isn't completely known, but its parent company Mondelez, has been known for using bone char in products.
Are Starburst Vegan?
Starburst does have a planted-derived version. These ones are vegan-friendly and don't have any animal-based products. With that being said, though, other versions of Starbursts contain ingredients from animals.
For instance, confectioner's glaze is a common ingredient, and it comes from the secretions of lack beetles. To give these candies their chewy texture, there's also gelatin in them, which comes from animals' collagen.
Are Sweet Tarts Vegan?
The original Sweet Tarts are vegan, and so are the specialty ones, such as the Easter-shaped Sweet Tarts. They consist of artificial colors, and naturally and artificially derived flavors. As a general rule, these are usually plant-based, unless otherwise stated.
The Chewy Sweet Tarts are not vegan friendly. They use egg white to give them their chewy texture.
Are M&Ms Vegan?
M&Ms would be suitable for a vegetarian but not for a vegan. These candies have skim milk, milk fat, and lactose, which all originate from animals. And no matter which variety you choose, including mint and peanut, you still have these types of ingredients.
Besides certain candies, you may wonder if you're favorite treats are vegan as well. So, we included a list of a few of them.
At one point, Sour Skittles and Skittles in general used carmine and gelatin. The gelatin gave the candy its texture, while the carmine gave certain Skittles their color. Gelatin consists of animal collagen, and carmine is crushed insects. Sour Skittles no longer use these ingredients. And to answer, "Are Skittles vegan in general," yes they are. Instead of animal products for color, Skittles contain artificial colors. Rather than gelatin, Skittles use corn syrup to get their chewy consistency. Skittles have carnauba wax. Let's take a minute to talk about "Is carnauba wax vegan?" This ingredient helps give Skittles their shine and prevents them from melting. Fortunately, it's vegan because it comes from the carnauba palm.
Are Poptarts Vegan?
A few of the flavors are vegan, such as unfrosted blueberry and strawberry. Unfrosted brown sugar is also classified as vegan.
Other Poptart flavors may consist of milk or whey, which both come from animals. Gelatin can also be found in the frosting of any frosted Poptart in the form of beef.
Are Takis Vegan?
Although they're far from being a candy, Takis are a popular snack. Fortunately, if you're starting a vegan diet, you can still consume some varieties of Takis.
The following flavors are all vegan:
- Spicy BBQ Outlaw
- Blue Heat
- Original Fuego
- Dragon Spicy Sweet Chili Flavor
There are a few, however, that have dried buttermilk, sodium caseinate from milk, egg, and whey, including:
- Crunchy Fajitas
- Nacho Xplosion Zesty Nacho Cheese Flavor
- Chipotle Ranch
Are Marshmallows Vegan?
Most of the marshmallows that you purchase in the grocery store contain gelatin, which gives them that bouncy texture that becomes gooey when melted.
What Are Baskin Robbins Vegan Options?
If you'd like to treat yourself to Baskin Robbins as a vegan, you may wonder which options don't contain milk or any other animal-based ingredients.
Some examples include:
- Non-Dairy Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream.
- Raspberry Sorbet
- Watermelon Splash Ice
- Non-Dairy Salted Fudge Bar
Where Can I Buy Cereals That Are Vegan?
You can find them in your local grocery store. Fiber One is an example. You can also have unfrosted Mini-Wheats and Quaker Life.
What Are the Best Vegan Brands?
Although you can find vegan options from various brands, certain ones center around providing consumers with vegan options.
The following are a few examples:
- Eden Foods Inc.
- Ben & Jerry's
- Beyond Meat
- Morningstar Farms
FAQs About Vegan Candy
Here are some answers to commonly asked questions about vegan candy:
Can a Vegan Eat Candy?
Absolutely, a vegan can eat candy. You, however, have to be careful because certain types of candy aren't vegan-friendly. They may contain ingredients to alter the color or texture of the food that are animal-based. Sometimes, icing will contain gelatin, and some have milk or use bone char in its processing.
Is Butterscotch Vegan?
Butterscotch sauce and chips tend to contain milk. The butterscotch candies, however, don't usually contain milk. Therefore, most butterscotch candies are fine to eat if you're a vegan.
Are Peppermint Candies Vegan?
You have to read carefully when you purchase peppermint candy. Some contain gelatin and cream. Some are comprised of confectioner’s glaze, which comes from insect excretions. Sometimes, the manufacturer may use carmine to achieve the red stripes of the candy. Plus, bone char could appear in some of them.
What Common Candies Are Vegan?
While there are a variety of candies that contain non-vegan ingredients, there are still a ton of options. Plus, manufacturers will often focus on recreating popular candies and making them vegan.
Here are some examples of common ones:
- Original Sweet Tarts
- Jolly Ranchers
- Swedish Fish
How Are Vegan Candies Made?
Vegan candies use ingredients that serve the same purpose but don't come from animals. For instance, Swedish Fish use mineral oil and cornstarch.
Where Can I Find a Vegan Candy Corn Recipe?
Check out our recipe section. We always publish new recipes to help people live a vegan lifestyle without sacrificing the joy of snacks and treats.
Going vegan isn't easy when you consider many products you never knew consisted of animals actually contain bug parts or animal bone marrow. When you know what to look for and have a few go-to treats, it can make going vegan simpler and more worthwhile.