fbpx
Vegan Liftz is a community-supported website. We may earn a small commission on purchases made through our links. Learn more.

Is Reese’s Puffs Cereal Vegan or Dairy-Free?
We’ve Got the Answer

Alex Arnstrom
Published by Alex Arnstrom
Fact checked by Markus Oliver, BHSc FACT CHECKED
Last updated: February 8, 2021

Ah, Reese’s Puffs. Favorite breakfast treat of many children. And, let’s be honest, adults, too. But there’s one problem — people can’t agree on whether they’re vegan or not. The answer isn’t that simple, though.

Whether or not this breakfast cereal is vegan depends mostly on your definition of veganism. And maybe the country you live in. So, let’s dig in the bowl and see the detailed ingredient list!

“I like any cereal. I like the idea of just eating and drinking with one hand without looking.”

 

Jerry Seinfeld

Reese’s Puffs Ingredients

reeses puffs in a bowl

Cereal manufacturers typically use the same ingredient list across all countries. But, sometimes, there are exceptions. I researched Reese's Puffs available for the US market, so the information here may not be accurate for everyone.

Here's the ingredients list of our favorite cereal:

  • Whole Grain Corn,
  • Sugar, Reese’s Peanut Butter (peanuts, sugar, monoglycerides, peanut oil, salt, molasses, corn starch),
  • Dextrose
  • Corn Meal
  • Corn Syrup
  • Canola Oil
  • Salt
  • Hershey’s Cocoa
  • Caramel Color
  • Trisodium Phosphate
  • Natural Flavor Vitamin E (added to preserve freshness)
  • Vitamin D3

The ingredients also include the following vitamins: Tricalcium Phosphate, Calcium Carbonate, Zinc and Iron (mineral nutrients), Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), A B Vitamin (niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), Vitamin A (palmitate), A B Vitamin (folic acid), and Vitamin B12.

Seeing this ingredient list, there are two ingredients that make Reese’s Puffs non-vegan — sugar and vitamin D3.

Now, I know you're probably shocked and wonder how a vitamin or even sugar can be non-vegan? Keep reading to get the answers.

Why Vitamin D3 Isn't Vegan

Vitamin D2 is vegan, but Vitamin D3 isn’t. It can be vegan if derived from lichen. However, in most cases, when added to food and cereal, it’s not vegan. This is because it’s made from lanolin, which is oil from sheep wool. Technically, it’s counted in the animal products category.

However, this is when your definition of veganism comes in. Similar to Kellogg's Raisin Bran, Reese's Puffs cereals have a minimal amount of vitamin D. One serving of the cereal contains only 10% RDA of vitamin D.

This equals 1.5 micrograms. To put this into perspective, size of a human hair if the hair was 0.00984252 inches long. Some vegans consider this ok, and I don't judge you if you do, too.

However, I believe this isn't vegan. First things first, it's an animal-derived product. Moreover, you're still contributing to people who exploit and abuse animals. Though in minute amounts, in this case.

Why Sugar Might Not Be Vegan

sugar cubes in a jar

Besides vitamin D, sugar may also not be suitable for your vegan diet and lifestyle. Putting sugar in food isn't good for your health, but you have an additional reason to avoid it if you're a vegan.

At first glance, you wouldn't think that something as simple as sugar may include animal-derived substances.

Most white sugar isn't vegan because it's processed with bone char [1]. But, this typically applies to North America.

FAQs

Is there Dairy in Reese’s Puffs?

There’s no dairy or gluten in Reese’s Puffs, even though the cereal isn’t listed as dairy- or gluten-free.

Can Vegans Eat Reese’s?

No, vegans can’t eat Reese’s. The cereal ingredients contains animal products such as vitamin D made from sheep's wool oil and the sugar processed with bone char.

Which General Mills Cereal are Vegan?

General Mills offers more than 20 types of cereal. Unfortunately, only Fiber One Original Bran is vegan-friendly. It contains no sugar or vitamin D.

Are Reese’s Puffs Vegan or Not?

No, they're not. Anyone who's a hard-core vegan should stay away from Reese's Puffs.

There are plenty of other vegan cereals you can pair with your plant milk and enjoy without harming animals.

Reference:

  1. https://www.peta.org/about-peta/faq/are-animal-ingredients-included-in-white-sugar/#:~:text=Bone%20char%2C%20which%20is%20used,Argentina%2C%20India%2C%20and%20Pakistan.&text=Bone%20char%E2%80%94often%20referred%20to,achieve%20its%20desirable%20white%20color

About the author

Be notified about new posts

Sign up with your email for our newsletter and be notified when we publish new blog posts. Don’t miss valuable advices.

Leave a Comment