fbpx
Vegan Liftz is a community-supported website. We may earn a small commission on purchases made through our links. Learn more.

Are Pretzels Vegan?
Everything You Should Know

Rafid Nassir
Published by Rafid Nassir
Fact checked by Markus Oliver, BHSc FACT CHECKED
Last updated: March 9, 2021

What do you get when you knead some dough, roll it up, twist it into a loop and let it bake at high heat for 15 minutes?

You get a kitchen that smells like heaven and a fluffy pastry known as a pretzel. But as delicious and aromatic as they may be, one question remains: are pretzels vegan?

In this article, we’ll look at what goes into these curly treats to give you a clear answer.

What Are Pretzels Made Of?

A Hand Making Pretzels

Most pretzels are made out of a dough composed of yeast, flour, and water. From there, the pretzel is dipped in a lye solution to give it an outer coating and then popped into the oven.

These ingredients are all considered vegan but are NOT considered gluten-free for those with allergies.

Some varieties use added fats like butter or margarine to soften the pretzel dough and create a fluffier texture. These components are not vegan and thus should be avoided when possible.

If you don’t feel like chipping a tooth while eating hard pretzels, vegetable oils like corn syrup can be used as a vegan alternative to make them into a softer and chewier snack.

Do They Contain Animal Products?

Some pretzels contain animal products, and some do not. It all depends on the ingredients used to make them.

Pretzels that contain additional ingredients like butter, cheese, and egg are not considered vegan. These ingredients are used to soften the dough and make it chewy and fluffier.

Other ingredients to watch out for include added fats. Any pretzel that contains these additional ingredients should be avoided.

What Vegan Toppings Are They Served With?

Typical toppings include cheddar cheese, butter, and dipping sauces like mustard sauce. These toppings may contain animal ingredients and should be used with caution.

Those who are conscious of what they consume opt to skip the toppings and enjoy a regular pretzel without the works.

Salted pretzels are vegan and acceptable for consumption. As salt is a mineral and not an animal byproduct, it can be served alongside pretzels without compromising its vegan aspect.

6 Vegan Pretzel Brands

With so many pretzel brands on the market, there’s a lot of choices to choose from. We’ve compiled a list of the most popular pretzel brands to determine which of them are vegan.

1. Goldfish Pretzels

Goldfish pretzels contain milk ingredients and, as a result, are not for vegans.

2. SuperPretzels

According to the official SuperPretzel website, the Original flavor is vegan. However, other flavors like Multigrain and cheese-filled soft pretzel sticks are not vegan due to honey and cheese ingredients.

3. Auntie Anne’s Pretzels

This company offers freshly baked soft pretzels with a large variety of vegan pretzels options. These flavors include original, cinnamon sugar, almond, jalapeno, and raisin. Additionally, they also offer vegan dipping sauces like marinara sauce and sweet pretzel dip that

function well as toppings.

4. Snyder’s Pretzels

Snyder’s offers many options for those looking for more variety. They come in many vegan flavors, such as garden vegetable, parmesan garlic, and peanut butter-filled pretzels.

Other pretzel flavors include chocolate covered and pretzel sandwiches ; however, they are not vegan.

5. Mr. Pretzels

For those on a vegan diet, Mr. Pretzels offers vegan options that are sure to please. Vegan toppings include cinnamon, sesame seed, and salt. Served on a soft pretzel that’s baked to order, it’s no wonder why Mr. Pretzels is a fan favorite around the world.

6. Rold Gold Pretzels

Their brand of pretzels is considered vegan, as their ingredients are not derived from any animal. However, their Cheddar and Honey Wheat flavors are not vegan, as they contain dairy products such as cheese and milk.

Related: Best Vegan Graham Crackers Brands

FAQs

Are Pretzels Plant Based?

Pretzels are not considered plant based, as its main ingredients (flour and yeast) are not considered whole food ingredients.

Are Pretzel Buns Vegan?

Pretzel buns are vegan friendly, as long as they are made with the same vegan ingredients you’d find in a traditional twisted pretzel.

Do Soft Pretzels Have Eggs?

Soft pretzels typically do not have eggs in them. Hard pretzels are created when a freshly baked pretzel is allowed to cool off at room temperature, resulting in a hardened texture.

Are Pretzels Vegan? The Final Verdict

Pretzels made with the basic ingredients (flour, yeast, water) are vegan and can be consumed by those conscious about how their foods are made.

However, some pretzels include additional animal derived ingredients such as margarine, butter, and cheese.

Always make sure you know what goes into your pretzels or opt to bake them yourself. That way, you have complete control over the ingredients and can enjoy them with peace of mind.

When in doubt, stick to hard pretzels, as soft pretzels have a higher chance of containing non-vegan ingredients.


About the author

Be notified about new posts

Sign up with your email for our newsletter and be notified when we publish new blog posts. Don’t miss valuable advices.

Leave a Comment