fbpx
Vegan Liftz is a community-supported website. We may earn a small commission on purchases made through our links. Learn more.

Your Guide to Vegan and Vegetarian Restaurants

Jason Hughes
Published by Jason Hughes
Fact checked by Markus Oliver, BHSc FACT CHECKED
Last updated: May 15, 2022

With more than 51% of restaurants offering vegan options (and growing) you're in good company when searching for plant-based items at your favorite restaurant. It's a win-win situation for the restaurants: they make more sales, customers are happy, and they're more likely to return with their friends.

Vegan food receives about $23 billion of the market share, and each year that number increases. While metropolitan areas tend to have more vegan options, major chains all over the world provide vegan and vegetarian selections.

Burger King, one of the first chain restaurants to offer a vegan item, The Impossible Burger, increased sales 5 percent from one quarter to another. Now, many other restaurants are helping vegans, vegetarians and plant-based eaters find the best fit for them on their menu. Join us as we explore your favorite restaurants' vegan and vegetarian options:

Burger King, one of the first chain restaurants to offer a vegan item, The Impossible Burger, increased sales 5 percent from one quarter to another. Now, many other restaurants are helping vegans, vegetarians and plant-based eaters find the best fit for them on their menu.

KFC Vegan Options

KFC launched their vegan Beyond Fried Chicken product line at the beginning of 2022 at all of their locations. However, it was a limited run production. Their test kitchen also is trying vegan burgers and vegan chicken.KFC vegan options

KFC Vegan Sauces

Also, choose from a number of KFC's vegan sauces, including:

  • Strawberry jam
  • BBQ dipping sauce
  • Grape jelly
  • Ketchup
  • Lemon juice

For vegan desserts, try an apple turnover or Musselman's applesauce.

Choosing sides a la carte provides plenty of satisfying, filling choices and are some of the most popular KFC vegan options. These are a vegan standard. Choose from homestyle baked beans, house salad with Italian dressing (hold the croutons), corn on the cob, green beans, and sweet kernel corn.

Are KFC Potato Wedges Vegan?

All of KFC's plant-based sides are vegan when they are ordered without butter, including potato wedges. However, many locations replaced potato wedges with Secret Recipes Fries, which thankfully are also vegan.

Are Papa John's Breadsticks Vegan?

Yes they are. Papa John's breadsticks are made with six cruelty-free ingredients: water, unbleached enriched wheat flour, sugar, yeast, soybean oil, and salt. The lack of preservatives and other additives also makes it a clean option.

Many of Papa John's sauces are also vegan-friendly:

  • Garlic sauce
  • Pizza dipping sauce
  • BBQ dipping sauce
  • Buffalo dipping sauce

If you're craving vegan pizza, check out this article.

Cheesecake Factory Vegetarian Options

The Cheesecake Factory offers more than 50 vegetarian options on its menu. There also are a great variety of vegan options for guests to enjoy. These include salads like the vegan cobb salad, avocado toast, fresh vegetable salad, french fries, fire-roasted artichoke, kale and quinoa salad, and falafel salad.

Or, you can dine on vegan sides like avocado toast, french fries, fresh asparagus, edamame, and fire-roasted artichoke. You can also ask for modifications of menu items, like Evelyn's favorite pasta, veggie burger, or beets and goat cheese to be served vegan.

Chick fil A Vegan Options

Chick Fil A will modify its menu items to be vegan. For example, the Cool Wrap without dairy or chicken will be vegan.

Salads, like the Spicy Southwest Salad, are vegan when ordered without cheese or chicken and a vegan dressing, like the Chili Lime Vinaigrette. The Market Salad is also easily changed to be vegan. The chefs can take out the blue cheese and chicken, and serve it with vegan Light Balsamic Vinaigrette.

Sides like the fruit cup and waffle potato fries also come vegan and are great complements to your meal.

Is Chick Fil a Sauce Vegan?

The Chick fil A Sauce is not vegan and contains eggs. However, there are vegan options to choose from. These include:

  • BBQ
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard
  • Polynesian Sauce
  • Sweet and Spicy Sriracha Sauce

Dairy Queen Vegetarian Options

Dairy Queen is a great choice to stop for a vegetarian friendly snack. All of their ice cream options are vegetarian, including their must-have Blizzards and sundaes. For something savory, the pretzel sticks, french fries, onions rings, and side salad are all vegetarian. Not every Dairy Queen has a grill, but the ones that do have these extra vegetarian options. Other vegetarian Dairy Queen foods you can try are parfaits and drinks like the blended coffees, fruit smoothies, and Mr. Misty Slush>

Denny's Vegan Options

The pros at Denny's have always tried to give their customers what they want, and at the end of 2021, they committed to adding more vegan breakfast options to the classic diner.

They partnered with Beyond Burger and the plant-based patty was a success. Try it with a brioche or potato bun. You can also order the veggie skillet, made with peppers, onions, potatoes, and mushrooms.

Other vegan options at Denny's

  • English muffin
  • Oatmeal
  • Hash browns

For a lighter fare, try the seasonal fruits and berries or one of Denny's sides like french fries, onion rings, hash browns, rice, or baked beans.

Subway's Vegan Options

The popular sandwich chain offers a variety of plant-based options for those looking for a quick vegan meal on the go.

The Veggie Delite is a great choice and can be made into a salad. Be sure to hold the cheese and ranch dressing to keep it vegan. The veggie patty Subway uses is also vegan.

Panera's Vegan Options

Many of Panera's soups and salads can be made vegan by holding the cheese and croutons. Fuji apple salad without chicken or gorgonzola, Greek Salad without feta, and Asian Sesame without chicken or wontons. The Peach and Blueberry smoothie is vegan. Another breakfast option is the Steel Cut Oatmeal with Strawberries & Pecans. Finally, the Baja Bowl and Mediterranean Bowl without Greek yogurt or feta are vegan.

PF Chang's Vegan Options

Vegan appetizer options are vegetarian lettuce wraps and chili garlic green beans. The steamed Buddha's feast is one of the most popular vegan options at PF Chang's. Stir-fried eggplant and Ma Po Tofu are two additional vegan choices.

Popeye's Vegan Options

Popeye's has vegan sides like corn on the cob, baguette, grits, and apple sauce.

FAQs

What restaurant has the most vegan options?

The Cheesecake Factory is one of the most vegan-friendly restaurants.

Do most restaurants have vegan options?

Yes, the majority of restaurants offer vegan sides.

Can restaurants customize vegan food?

Many restaurants will be happy to accommodate you.

Are Jack in the Box tacos vegan?

No, Jack in the Box tacos are not vegan. They contain cheese, chicken, and beef.

Is Jimmy Johns bread vegan?

Yes, all of the bread at Jimmy's Johns is vegan.

Jimmy John's
By Mr. Satterly - Own work, WTFPL, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=58838656

Is Subway Veggie Patty vegan?

In some locations, the subway veggie patty is vegan.

Is Panera's French onion soup vegetarian?

Yes. All of the ingredients in the French Onion Soup is vegetarian.

Is Panda Express's Chow Mein vegan?

Yes. Panda Express reworked the chow mein recipe in 2019 and it is now vegan.">Panera's Vegan Options

Many of Panera's soups and salads can be made vegan by holding the cheese and croutons. Fuji apple salad without chicken or gorgonzola, Greek Salad without feta, and Asian Sesame without chicken or wontons. The Peach and Blueberry smoothie is vegan. Another breakfast option is the Steel Cut Oatmeal with Strawberries & Pecans. Finally, the Baja Bowl and Mediterranean Bowl without Greek yogurt or feta are vegan.

PF Chang's Vegan Options

Vegan appetizer options are vegetarian lettuce wraps and chili garlic green beans. The steamed Buddha's feast is one of the most popular vegan options at PF Chang's. Stir-fried eggplant and Ma Po Tofu are two additional vegan choices.

Popeye's Vegan Options

Popeye's has vegan sides like corn on the cob, baguette, grits, and apple sauce.

FAQs

What restaurant has the most vegan options?

The Cheesecake Factory is one of the most vegan-friendly restaurants.

Do most restaurants have vegan options?

Yes, the majority of restaurants offer vegan sides.

Can restaurants customize vegan food?

Many restaurants will be happy to accommodate you.

Are Jack in the Box tacos vegan?

No, Jack in the Box tacos are not vegan. They contain cheese, chicken, and beef.

Is Jimmy Johns bread vegan?

Yes, all of the bread at Jimmy's Johns is vegan.

Jimmy John's
By Mr. Satterly - Own work, WTFPL, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=58838656

Is Subway Veggie Patty vegan?

In some locations, the subway veggie patty is vegan.

Is Panera's French onion soup vegetarian?

Yes. All of the ingredients in the French Onion Soup is vegetarian.

Is Panda Express's Chow Mein vegan?

Yes. Panda Express reworked the chow mein recipe in 2019 and it is now vegan.


About the author