fbpx
Vegan Liftz is a community-supported website. We may earn a small commission on purchases made through our links. Learn more.

The Best French Fries For Vegans

Jason Hughes
Published by Jason Hughes
Fact checked by Markus Oliver, BHSc FACT CHECKED
Last updated: May 14, 2022

Following a vegan diet opens up a whole new world of healthy and delicious eating. However, some modifications have to be made to some of our favorites, and that includes French fries.

Unfortunately, your favorite McDonald's French fries aren't vegan. Nevertheless, there are plenty of excellent vegan French fry options out there.

Whether you're cooking your own vegetarian air fryer recipes, heating up some frozen vegan French fries, or going out for fast food French fries, there's something for everyone on this list.

The Best French Fry Options for Vegans (Fast Food)

1. KFC fries

It may surprise you to learn that the French fries at Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC) contain no animal-based or dairy products. Therefore, KFC Secret Recipe fries are vegan.

One thing to keep in mind is that cooking methods may vary by franchise. Therefore, there's no guarantee that KFC fries are not prepared in contaminated cooking oil that has also been used for meat products.

2. Burger King fries

Unlike KFC fries, you can count on Burger King's fries to be completely 100% vegan. Burger King guarantees that every single batch of delicious French fries is prepared in fresh vegetable oil using fryers dedicated just to their French fries.

3. Five Guys fries

Are Five Guys fries vegan? You betcha!

Because the fries at Five Guys are cooked in peanut oil, they are 100% vegan. You can enjoy both the regular fries and the famous Cajun-style fries.

4. Wendy's fries

If you're wondering, "Are Wendy's French fries vegan?," you're going to be happy to learn that they indeed are.

The French fries are Wendy's are naturally cut seasoned potatoes that are cooked in vegan oil and seasoned with black pepper and garlic.

5. In-N-Out Burger fries

Are In n Out fries vegan? Yes, they are. Since no other In-N-Out menu options are fried, you don't have to worry about cross-contamination.

In-N-Out fries are potatoes that are cut by hand and fried in 100% sunflower oil. For super-crispy fries at In-N-Out Burgers, ask that they be cooked "light well" or "well done."

6. Chick-fil-A

The Chick-fil-A menu notes several different vegan options, and one of those options is the famous Chick-fil-A waffle fries.

Nevertheless, the company is clear that they do not designate preparation surfaces as vegetarian-only, so your fries could come into contact with meat products.

The famous Chick-fil-A Sauce is not vegan (it contains egg), but their vegan sauces are barbeque sauce, honey mustard sauce, Polynesian sauce, spicy sriracha sauce, and ketchup.

7. Culver's sweet potato fries

At Culver's, you can enjoy healthy and delicious sweet potato fries that are 100% vegan.

8. Jack in the Box curly fries

Are Jack in the Box curly fries vegan? They are. The legendary crispy and flavorful curly fries are completely safe for a vegan diet.

Other vegan options at Jack in the Box include potato wedges and hashbrowns.

9. Arby's Homestyle Fries and curly fries

At Arby's, you can indulge in either their homestyle fries or their curly fries.

As with many of the other options on this list, the French fries at Arby's can become contaminated by meat products that are prepared on the same surfaces.

One great thing about Arby's is that they also have several vegan sauce options, including marinara sauce, Bronco Berry Sauce, Red Ranch Sauce, Arby's Sauce, and Smoky Q Sauce. Note that the Robust Marinara is not vegan.

10. Carl's Jr. fries

Are Carl's Jr fries vegan? According to the company's website and published Carl's Jr vegetarian options, their French fries and Crisscut fries are verified vegan, as are the breakfast hash browns.

If you're a fan of Sonic, you're going to be happy to learn that their fries are vegan, as are the tater tots and onion rings. In fact, Sonic has a full vegan menu that you can use to find all sorts of goodies.

11. Sonic fries

If you're a fan of Sonic, you're going to be happy to learn that their fries are vegan, as are the tater tots and onion rings. In fact, Sonic has a full vegan menu that you can use to find all sorts of goodies.

Grocery Store Frozen French Fries for Vegans

If you're a fan of cooking your own French fries at home, you can either make homemade fries or use your air fryer or oven for cooking any of these frozen fries options.

  • Ore-Idea Extra Crispy Golden Fries
  • Grown in Idaho Hand Cut Style Fries
  • Walmart's Great Value Regular Cut French Fried Potatoes
  • McCain Classic Fries
  • Cascadian Farm Organic Straight Cut French Fries
  • Alexia Vegan Crispy Truffle Fries
  • Nathan's Jumbo Crinkle Cut French Fries
  • Strong Root Vegetable Fries

FAQs

Here are some of the most commonly asked questions about vegan French fries.

Can you eat French fries as a vegan?

Absolutely! You just have to be sure you're eating some of the fries that are on our list.

Can you eat French fries on a plant-based diet?

French fries are not a meat product, so they can definitely be enjoyed on a plant-based diet. However, for French fries to be included as a part of a vegan diet, they need to meet vegan guidelines.

Are Popeyes fries vegan?

Popeyes fries are not vegan. In fact, some sources suggest that all of their menu items are allegedly fried in beef tallow or lard, both of which are animal fats.

Be aware that you will also find sources out there that say that Popeyes fries are vegan, but from our own research, this seems to be incorrect.

Are Taco Bell Nacho Fries vegan?

Taco Bell fries are not vegan. Fortunately, Taco Bell provides their own comprehensive guide to how to eat vegan at their restaurants.


About the author