Despite the widespread belief that a fast-food restaurant is not the best spot for hungry vegans, there are some surprisingly filling vegan snacks and beverage options at Sonic Drive-in.
With a bit of creativity, you can put together a satisfying vegan-friendly meal on the go with available sauces, dips, toppings, and sides.
What Vegan Foods Can You Order at Sonic Drive-in?
This popular fast-food chain was established back in 1953 and now has over 3,000 restaurants all over the U.S.
It's known among meat-eaters for its tasty burgers, chicken sandwiches, and hot dogs, but what should you order at Sonic drive-in if you happen to be a vegan?
The list may not be very long, but it does offer some plant-based surprises, so let's take a look at vegan options at Sonic:
- French fries- This classic junk food can come in handy when there's nothing else on the vegan menu. Add some ketchup, mustard, or just some salt, and you're all set.
- Tater tots - Sonic's tater tots are crispy, flavorful, and completely vegan! They come in two versions; regular and sweet potato tater tots. Pair them with one of the vegan toppings or sauces, and you have yourself a fast food plant-based lunch.
- Onion rings - Yes, Sonic's onion rings are actually vegan! In most cases, onion rings' batter contains milk and eggs,  and it's not easy to find a vegan version, so this is a real treasure. Just pick one of many tasty vegan Sonic sauces to drizzle on top.
We should mention that some of these fried items may be exposed to gluten and other allergens. They are fried in vegetable oil, but the oil may come in contact with animal-derived ingredients, such as milk, eggs, shellfish, fish, or wheat and soy because they are not always prepared in designated stations.
So if you want to avoid cross-contamination, maybe these fried foods are not the best option.
Other Vegan Options:
- Corn Chips - goes really well with sliced avocado or salsa de Sonic
- Tree Top Applesauce - here's an option for vegans with a sweet tooth
2. Custom-Made Sandwich
Putting together your own vegan sandwich with available food items is an exciting way to explore plant-based options at Sonic Drive-in.
Like at the Applebee's, The staff in most Sonic Drive-ins will have no problem with leaving out non-vegan items from your order.
Pick yottaraur vegan bread or bun, throw in some toppings and condiments, and you'll have yourself a tasty fast food vegan meal.
3. Breads at Sonic Drive-in
Start building your custom vegan sandwich with one of these:
- Hamburger Bun
- Hot Dog Bun
- Texas Toast
- Ciabatta bun
- Poppy Seed Bun
- Philly Roll*
- Soft pretzel twist
The first four bread choices may contain milk and eggs, which usually means that the product was made in a facility that also processes milk, eggs, and wheat, so this can be a deal-breaker for people with allergies.
Sonic mostly sources their buns and bread from local bakeries, so the ingredients may be different depending on the location .
Unfortunately, their delicious Philly roll and Bagel may not be available in all locations.
4. Sauces and Condiments
To top your sandwich, you can choose some of these vegan sauces and condiments available at Sonic:
- Hickory BBQ Sauce*
- Celery Salt*
- Asian Sweet Chili Sauce*
- Sweet and Sour sauce*
- Salt Pepper Blend
- Salsa de SONIC
*Asian sweet chili sauce, celery salt, hickory BBQ sauce, and sweet and sour sauce may not be easy to find in all locations.
This is where things get easy for vegans. Sonic has a decent selection of toppings for your custom-made sandwich, from good ol' lettuce, tomatoes to jalapeno, and dill pickle spears.
Some of these toppings are also perfect with fries or onion rings.
You don't have to decipher the list of ingredients with these items - they're all 100% vegan:
- Dill Pickle Chips
- Dill Pickle Spears
- Hatch Green Chilies
- Diced Onion
- Sport Peppers
- Sweet Pickle Relish
Sonic is not ideal for sweet-craving vegans, and the list of vegan-friendly desserts includes just a few items like:
- Grape Jelly
- Strawberry Jam
Hopefully, they'll add some non-dairy ice cream options to their menu. Until then, bring your own vegan treats and order one of their ice-cold vegan slushies.
7. Beverages Selection at Sonic Drive-in
Sonic doesn't lack in the selection of vegan soft drinks. Also, most frozen stuff at Sonic is vegan, including their trademark famous slushies.
8. Add-ins and Syrups
You can add any of the following flavors or syrups to their 100% vegan slush base:
- Blue Coconut
- Blue Raspberry
- Diet Cherry
- French Vanilla
- Limeade Slush
- Lemonade Slush
If slushies are not your thing, you can pick some of the fast-food staple beverages, like Coca-Cola, Sprite, Dr. Pepper, lemonade, or sugar-free iced tea.
Our Top Vegan Pics at Sonic Drive-in
Creating a vegan meal at Sonic doesn't have to be a pickle. Okay, it might not be the greatest place to enjoy a three-course vegan dinner, but you can use random vegan stuff and make your own menu by mixing and matching their plant-based food items. For example:
- Order a couple of vegan sides, like French fries and onion rings, and combine them with classic toppings like lettuce and tomato.
- Create your own makeshift nachos by combining corn chips + Salsa de Sonic and sliced avocado
- Load your hot dog bun with some veggies, like onions, lettuce, tomato, and a bit of sweet pickle relish.
- Combine onion rings with tater tots and add some sauerkraut, dill pickle chips, and mustard to boost the flavors.
See? It's not that hard to be a vegan at Sonic, both when it comes to snacks and beverages. You can check out their website for more vegan meal combo ideas.
Are there any allergens in Sonic Drive-in's vegan food options (e.g., peanuts, fish, eggs, milk, soy, wheat, tree nuts, shellfish, etc.)?
Yes, fried foods may be exposed to gluten and allergens. Other products may come in contact with a trace amount of common allergens due to cross-contamination. Check Sonic's allergen information  for details.
Are there any whole food options at Sonic Drive-in?
Aside from applesauce, veggies used for toppings are currently the only whole food option at Sonic Drive-in.
Does Sonic offer veggie burgers?
Yes, you can get Sonic's veggie burger only in some locations. However, it's not clear whether their burger is entirely vegan since it contains a small amount of cholesterol, which can only come from animals.
What Will You Order at Sonic?
Going vegan doesn't mean you have to give up the unhealthy practice of indulging in fast food from time to time. If greasy, sugary food is your guilty pleasure, at least now you can place your vegan fast food order with confidence, knowing that it's free from animal ingredients.
So, what would be your Sonic vegan combo of choice? Let us know in the comments below.