Download your Free Guide
9 Super High Protein Vegan Recipes
That Taste Amazing
These Recipes Are:
It's a question that is commonly asked, "Is pasta vegan?".
The short answer is, it depends.
Some pasta is vegan-friendly, while others are not. Don't begin panicking about another food product that you will have to be wary of before eating. It's pretty simple to tell the difference between vegan and non-vegan pasta.
Let's take a look at the difference.
You can eat pasta on a vegan diet, but it depends on what kind of pasta. Sometimes pasta is made with eggs, and other times it's not. Let's take a look into how you can tell if pasta is vegan.
There are some key differences between fresh and dried pasta, especially with ingredients and how they are made. It answers the question of "Is pasta vegan?".
Fresh pasta is traditionally made with flour, water, salt, and eggs. It's usually made and then eaten within the same time period. It's served fresh for maximum taste and flavor. Here's how it is made.
Dried pasta is usually mass-produced and dried with high temperatures to preserve it. The ingredients for dried pasta are flour and semolina, which ar derived from wheat. Since eggs aren’t normally in dried pasta, it’s safe for vegans to eat.
Fresh and dried pasta comes in all shapes and sizes, including spaghetti, penne, lasagna, and more.
Overall, you can mostly count on dried pasta being vegan-friendly, while fresh pasta may not be a great option for vegans.
Fresh pasta is usually made with eggs, making it non-vegan friendly. However, you can sometimes find varieties that use oil instead of eggs. You'll have to take a look at the ingredient list or ask the waiter at a restaurant to find out if eggs were used or not.
Dried pasta is usually vegan, since it typically only contains flour and semolina. You should try to purchase whole grain pasta as this is healthier compared to pasta made with white pasta. Whole grain pasta has more nutrients like protein, fiber, iron, magnesium, and zinc.
Eggs are the biggest non-vegan ingredient to look out for in pasta. It's normally found only in fresh pasta though, so you should be safe purchasing a dried pasta brand. You should always double-check the ingredients to be safe. Other than that, eggs are the only sneaky ingredient to keep an eye out for when getting pasta.
Most dried pasta brands are vegan, but here's a quick list of favorite vegan pasta brands.
There are lots of brands that have vegan-friendly pasta. Some of them don't even use wheat but instead choose other tasty plant-based alternatives.
Companies have become more creative in the recent past, making pasta from foods such as rice, beans, legumes, sea kelp, yams, and sweet potatoes, among others. Many are gluten-free and enriched with vitamins, minerals, and protein.
You could make your own vegan pasta. There are plenty of delicious vegan pasta recipes that replace eggs with oil (this vegan egg article might also interest you). However, it does take time to make your own vegan pasta. It may be more cost-effective to purchase dried pasta. I would recommend saving yourself the time and buy dried pasta instead.
Restaurants may use vegan pasta. You should ask the waiter if they use dried or fresh pasta in their meals. Most restaurants probably use dried pasta, and it is usually vegan-friendly. You might end up being more concerned about the cheesy sauce than the pasta noodles.
There are delicious vegan recipes of most pasta sauces. Pasta sauce usually contains non-vegan ingredients like heavy cream, milk, cheese, and meat. You can find easy vegan pasta sauces recipes online.
If you are eating out for dinner, then consider these meatless pasta sauces:
So, is pasta vegan?
Generally speaking, dried pasta is usually vegan, while fresh pasta needs some caution.
Fresh pasta is commonly made with eggs, although occasionally, it's made with oil instead. Dried pasta normally doesn't have eggs, although certain types like egg noodles aren't vegan-friendly.
To be on the safer side, you should always check the ingredient list or ask a waiter to make the final call if pasta is vegan.
Also, while making sure that pasta noodles are vegan, you should also be wary of pasta sauces. They contain non-vegan ingredients more often than noodles. Either way, it's still possible to enjoy vegan pasta dishes.