fbpx
Vegan Liftz is a community-supported website. We may earn a small commission on purchases made through our links. Learn more.

Are Cheerios Vegan?

Rafid Nassir
Published by Rafid Nassir
Fact checked by Markus Oliver, BHSc FACT CHECKED
Last updated: March 22, 2022

Being vegan has many benefits, but it can make your shopping quite difficult. That’s because you now have to pay close attention to the ingredients if you want to stick to your diet. If breakfast cereal is a crucial part of your daily menu, you’d certainly want to look for vegan-friendly options. And if Cheerios are your favorite? Well, it’s time to find out if you can keep eating them.

What Are Cheerios?

Cheerios is a famous brand of breakfast cereals. Created as early as in 1941, they are owned by Nestle in the UK. Originally, they were called “CheeriOats” and contained no additional flavor. Their distinct O shape is a result of the main ingredient - whole grain oats, which are pulverized and shaped like a torus.

Nowadays, Cheerios are one of the world’s most popular breakfast cereals for children and adults alike due to their large number of flavor varieties - from fruits to chocolate.

Cheerios Ingredients

If you were to open a pack of cheerios, you’d find a mixture of both vegan and non-vegan ingredients. Typically, the majority of products from the Cheerios range are made from whole grain oats, corn starch, sugar, salt, and some preservatives for flavor and freshness.

When you look at the list of vitamins and minerals, you should see iron and zinc, Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), calcium carbonate, A B Vitamin (folic acid), Vitamin B12, and Vitamin D3, among others.

In 2015, the manufacturer, General Mills, announced that they would be removing all traces of rye, barley and wheat in order to make Cheerios completely gluten-free.

Are Cheerios Vegan?

As for the answer to the main question - some cheerios are vegan. However, there are many flavored types available, and they are, for the most part, not vegan due to their ingredients.

It’s often implied in the name itself - for example, Honey Nut Cheerios contain honey, which is not vegan. The same goes for peanut butter, chocolate, or Vitamin D. Any animal-derived ingredient ultimately makes the entire batch of Cheerios not vegan.

Are Cheerios Vegan-Friendly?

Yes, Cheerios are vegan-friendly - you just have to pay attention to the ingredient list. You can definitely include Cheerios in your fully vegan diet. However, if your Honey Nut Cheerios were your favorite, you need to remember that, sadly, honey is not a vegan ingredient. As such, you should consider switching to Multigrain Cheerios.

Final Thoughts

If you can’t imagine removing Cheerios from your vegan diet, the good news is that you don’t have to! You just need to pay attention to the ingredients list and remember that Multigrain Cheerios are your safest vegan option. Jazz them up with some soy or oat milk, and add a couple of slices of your favorite fruit.


About the author